First Day

My Exhausted Darling

After your quite restless, jet lagged and noise disturbed first night we then had our first day together. You had nowhere near enough sleep and I feared you may fall apart but you wanted to embrace this new world and embrace it we did.

Transport was the first issue. We were heading for the city so we jumped a bus at the end of my street then hopped a train to Circular Quay, maybe 45 minutes in total. You were excited by the bus. I laughed. That bus was a chore, a right royal pain in the rear end, but you were enchanted. Then on to the train, which was almost empty. It took us right where we needed to be. You seemed pretty impressed by that as well.

I watched you like a hawk, waiting for you to fall apart under the strain of jet lag and insufficient sleep.  Plus I just liked watching you. I wasn’t entirely satisfied you were real. I thought maybe you were an apparition and that I would wake up and be stuck in Yahoo chat with everyone laughing at me.

We took a quick stroll around the harbour foreshore. It was a beautifully cloudless autumn day, a slight breeze was in the air and the love of my life was by my side. You were ready for lunch so we grabbed a table at a cafe right on the harbour and proceeded to order. It was funny. A quite young girl was serving us. She came up and introduced herself. She had an American accent. It was clearly fake. I was laughing.

Youngsters here in Australia have often attempted to try and sound a little more sophisticated by adopting a North American accent. I cringed; I was desperately hoping you wouldn’t notice. What would you think of us in this cultural backwater? I mean how embarrassing? I had to tell you though.  Man it was so bad.

I have no idea what we ate. I know we had planned to stroll through “The Rocks,” a historical tourist precinct. You didn’t make it. A wall of exhaustion descended on you. I hailed a cab and we motored home.

You Will Always Be My Darling

From Sir With Love

…………………………………………………………………………………..

Sir My Love,

I remember waking quite early (before the sun was up) despite my lack of sleep. I felt energized and ready to take on the day. How utterly young and naïve was I? You were game. You jumped out of bed and said, “Let’s do it.” You catered to my every whim, though I suspect you knew what would happen to me later that day. You didn’t complain; you just planned on taking care of me. You were so perfect.

Yes, I was so excited to take a bus and train as I was not used to public transportation. You just smiled, held my hand, and led me on this new adventure. I was like a kid in a candy shop. As I stated in “Driving,” my recent journey to Japan and their public transportation system wasn’t a novel approach to me because of my experience in Sydney with you.

I remember walking around the harbor and the little café where we dined. We watched the ferries come and go. I had forgotten about the waitress until you reminded me. I wasn’t paying particular attention to her (as you were the object of my interest), but I do remember she was hovering over me and around me. I couldn’t figure out why until you pointed out her fake accent. We laughed, and I thought she was very weird after that. Now I’m beginning to wonder which one of us that waitress was trying to impress (I’m raising my eyebrow here).

And my love, Sydney is anything but a cultural backwater place. It’s a thriving, diverse metropolis that came second to you. You were my Sydney man, and we both know how educated and intelligent you are.

I recall walking around with you after lunch when I felt my knees buckle and the world tipped. I had run out of steam. I felt dizzy and a bit nauseous.  You didn’t even hesitate in responding. You hailed a cab, tucked me in the backseat, and let me rest my head on your shoulder as we headed home. I didn’t have a worry in the world; you were in charge. You enveloped me and made me feel special.

Thank you for being a wonderful example of a true gentleman by taking care of me and making me feel like a lady.

Contentedly yours,

Darling

©2013 Darling and Sir

21 comments on “First Day

  1. Thanks Again

    Regards
    Sir

  2. Djoo says:

    Relationships like these that nurture the other is just so wonderful! You two are so lovely together.

  3. Thanks again for another wonderful post!

    I liked this part the most in Sir’s post –

    “I wasn’t entirely satisfied you were real. I thought maybe you were an apparition and that I would wake up and be stuck in Yahoo chat with everyone laughing at me.”

    and this in Ms.Darling’s post –

    You hailed a cab, tucked me in the backseat, and let me rest my head on your shoulder as we headed home. I didn’t have a worry in the world; you were in charge. You enveloped me and made me feel special.

    Such beautiful feelings…I wish I could experience the same.

  4. David Emeron says:

    How lovely! What joy, what delight there is herein!

Leave a Reply

